Fashion exhibitions @ the Groninger Museum

Last Thursday I went all the way up to Groningen to visit the Azzedine Alaïa and Iris van Herpen exhibitions. And they were both breathtaking! Azzedine Alaïa very much in a ‘I want to wear/have that and it would make me so pretty’ kind of way – whilst Iris van Herpen had more of an ‘oooh and aaah and how does this work?’ effect. Both fascinating, inspiring and visibly made by experts in high fashion. I made loads of pictures and here’s a small selection to give you an impression. Enjoy!

Azzedine Alaïa

Iris van Herpen

What I liked was the variety in the work of both designers – although not everything was as appealing to me. But I guess that is one of the good things about fashion: it’s all about expressing yourself and finding what fits for you.

It was a shame that there wasn’t any information on the Azzedine Alaïa pieces, because I would’ve loved to learn more about the fabrics and techniques he used. But on the other hand the explanation of Iris van Herpen’s work sometimes seemed a little bit to far fetched – although I must say I could always see what her inspiration was.

I recommend everyone who is even just remotely into fashion going because it really are fun exhibitions! Especially the combination of both designers made it really worthwhile. For everyone who’s considering: Azzedine Alaïa can be seen until the 6th of may, and Iris van Herpen until the 23rd of September.

Who is your favourite designer out of these two?

For more information check the Groninger Museum website!

Leave a Reply

